Our Employee Spotlight this month comes from our home office in Richmond, VA. Senior Producer, Emily Gault, has been an integral member of ASL’s commercial lines team for six years. Her knowledge of the insurance industry and commitment to customer service is the core of ASL’s culture. It makes her an asset to her underwriting team and the clients she interacts with on a daily basis. We chatted with Emily to learn a little bit more about her professional and personal life.

Tell us a little bit about your region. 

My main concentration is in the Mid-Atlantic…. From the mountains to the coast, concentrating on Virginia, North Carolina, Maryland and Delaware.

Do you have a favorite memory from your time here at ASL so far?

The best moments for me have been seeing the folks that I’ve helped train go on to excel in their positions at ASL.  

What do you like about working at ASL?

I like that no matter where you start in this company, there’s no limit as to what you can achieve.  I started as an assistant and worked my way up to associate producer, then producer, training team leader and now a senior producer working remotely from my hometown, which I didn’t think I would ever get back to.  And my superiors have helped and pushed to get me where I am.

How did you end up working in the insurance industry?

I started answering the phone in a small family owned independent agency.  I learned Personal Lines, then went on to focus on Commercial Lines.  I learned the business from the very bottom.  I’ve now been in the insurance business for over 16 years and I could not imagine doing anything else.

Did you face any challenges being a woman in this male dominated industry?

Actually, no.  The more I learned, the more valuable I became.  And once I took the jump into the E&S world with ASL, that’s all it took.  They saw the amount of detail I put into everything I do and things have moved very fast.  The great thing about this industry and especially within ASL, is that hard work is actually rewarded, no matter where you start or what your education level may be…. it comes down to effort and dedication.

What do you like to do in your free time/what are your hobbies?

I live on the water in Yorktown, VA with my husband Andy, my son Tyler and step-daughter Belle.  Now that summer is finally here, my free time will be spent paddle boarding, boating and laying by the pool with a drink!